Nashville, let’s do this thing

One year ago in November I graduated cosmetology school and made the decision to stay in Nashville. I wrote in November 2013 “I believe the Lord is calling me to stay for now. I’m excited to see what’s next.” I ended that journal entry by saying “Nashville, let’s do this thing” God is faithful. God is faithful. God is faithful. As I reflect on where I was last year writing those words it makes me smile so big to see where I am now. I had no job, few friends in Nashville, missed home and oh, I was single. When I wrote that I was excited to see what was next I’m nearly positive I was forcing myself to think that way. Since then I have babysat more children than the population of my hometown while waiting to get a salon job, I’ve wondered what I was doing here and considered moving home, I’ve dated and married Taylor, I’ve made life long friends and I’ve shared sweet memories and some bittersweet tears with some of those friends as I watched them move on to other places, I’ve began to realize a small glimpse of maybe what I’m doing here. I wouldn’t trade one thing that has happened during this last year. I hear people say that and in the midst of something hard I always think those people are ridiculous because why would you not trade out one of those “bad” experiences for something that seems so much better? Well, looking back those “bad” seasons made the good ones good. They didn’t teach me things that only positive experiences would have. Trust me, I’m sure next time I’m in that season I will be begging to trade it, but I would like to hope as I sit here today and reflect on how faithful God is through it all that it will help me through this next year. So once again Nashville, lets keep doing this thing!

blog-nashville lets do this

1 Peter 1:6&7 says- In this you greatly rejoice, even though now for a little while, if necessary, you have been distressed by various trials, so that the proof of your faith being more precious than gold which is perishable, even though tested by fire, may be found to result in praise and glory and honor at the revelation of Jesus Christ

Leave a Reply

